top of page

Executive Committee

Linda Tan Lingard (President)

Linda Tan has more than 30 years of experience in publishing covering a broad range from editorial to marketing. Currently she is the publisher of Oyez!Books. Oyez!Books was established in 2008 to focus on Malaysian children's books. A strong advocate of local children's book writers and illustrators, Linda is active locally and internationally, and has spoken at several international fairs.

Nor Azhar Ishak  (Vice-President)

Nor Azhar Ishak is a writer and illustrator of picture books as well as a professional storyteller. He has won numerous awards and recognition inlcuding the IBBY Honour List and the Samsung Kids Time Author's Award. He is a nominee of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2024.

Lim Lay Koon (Treasurer)

Lim Lay Koon is a writer and illustrator of picture books and short stories. She has won several awards locally and overseas. Her illustrations have been exhibited at the Asian Festival of Children's Content Singapore. She won the First prize of the Yusof Gajah Illustration Award, 2023.

Tay Yit Ping (Representative for Sarawak)

Tay Yit Ping is the founder of Ika Picture Story House, Kuching, Sarawak. IKA Picture Story House was started in 2012, specialising in children picture story books and activities that promote reading. Yit Ping is also active in promoting story reading culture for young children and parents.

Basari Mat Yasit (Secretary)

Basari Mat Yasit is a writer and illustrator. He has won the Nami Concour Distinction for his book, Men from the River.. He is also the recipient of the Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka Perdana Award for his collection of poetry as well as the Anugerah Buku Negara 2023 and received a consolation prize for the Yusof Gajah Illustration Award 2023. Basari's books frequently focused on folktales and he enjoys using collage as an illustration medium.

Dr Kaithiri Arumugam (Representative for Kedah)

Dr Kaithiri Arumugam is a school teacher and obtained her PhD from UUM. She is also a Munsyi Dewan (Sastera). She is based in Sg Petani, Kedah. 

Special Committees

Nor Emila Binti Mohd Yusof 

Nor Emila Binti Mohd Yusof is a writer, illustrator and has won numerous awards both locally and internationally. She has participated in many international book fairs. She has published more than 40 books and is in demand for evaluatiing illustrations. She was a BIB jury and a nominee of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2024.

Do you want to represent MYCPB at your state? Then write and tell us why at

bottom of page